HOME

Chief's Office

ABC Licenses

911 Calls

Community Policing

Court Docket

Criminal Investigations

Directory

Employment

FEEDBACK

File a Report

Highway Safety

History

ICE Victim Notification

Inmate Search

Professional Standards

In Memory

Patrol Division

Provide a Tip

Records & reports

Special Enforcement

Sex Offender Search

Warrants

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Highway Safety Community Services

 

 

 

Keeping children safe on West Virginia’s roadways is a priority for the Charleston Police Department.  The Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Program receives federal funding that provides the educational materials, training, and supplies the program needs.  Many certified technicians from the police department are available to instruct and assist parents with proper installation of car seats.  To have a certified CPS Technician assist you, please call 304.348.6470 to schedule an appointment.

 

The Charleston Police Department will provide a free safety seat to those who may not be able to afford a new one on their own. If you would like to request a free car seat, please call 304.348.6470 to see if you are eligible.

 

The American Academy Pediatrics advises parents to keep their toddlers in rear-facing car seats until age 2, or until they reach the maximum height and weight for their seat.  It also advises that most children will need to ride in a belt-positioning booster seat until they have reached 4 feet 9 inches tall and are between 8 and 12 years of age

West Virginia Law for Child Passengers

§17C-15-46. Child passenger safety devices required; child safety seats and booster seats.

Every driver who transports a child under the age of eight years in a passenger automobile, van or pickup truck other than one operated for hire shall, while such motor vehicle is in motion and operated on a street or highway of this state, provide for the protection of such child by properly placing, maintaining and securing such child in a child passenger safety device system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards: Provided, That if a child is under the age of eight years and at least four feet nine inches tall, a safety belt shall be sufficient to meet the requirements of this section.

Any person who violates any provision of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than ten dollars nor more than twenty dollars.

A violation of this section shall not be deemed by virtue of such violation to constitute evidence of negligence or contributory negligence or comparative negligence in any civil action or proceeding for damages.

If any provision of this section or the application thereof to any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of this section and to this end the subsections of this section are declared to be severable.

If all seat belts in a vehicle are being used at the time of examination by a law officer and the vehicle contains more passengers than the total number of seat belts or other safety devices as installed in compliance with federal motor vehicle safety standards, the driver shall not be considered as violating this section.